Owner: Giacomo, Mariacristina and Mariavittoria Oddero
We have a land, and we have roots which go back to the end of 18th century. We have a story to tell, of our family, our cellars and our vines, located in some of the most important sites in the Barolo and Barbaresco zones. We tell our story to all the wine-lovers who come to visit us and taste our wines.
It is hard to say for sure exactly when our winemaking began. 18th century muncipal records show that the vineyards and estate have belonged to the Oddero family for centuries. Documents, notarial deeds and pictures can take us back as far as our ancestors Lorenzo, Luigi and Giovanni Battista (1794-1874), who between the 18th and 19th centuries started making wine from the grapes of our vineyards located around La Morra, a picturesque hill-town with views out over the whole Alta Langa.
International Exhibition of Turin (1911) It is thanks to them that Oddero wine got its start in life, first sold in small casks and demijohns, then from 1878 in bottles. In 1911 Giacomo Oddero, grandfather of the current Giacomo, took part proudly with his Barolo to the International Exhibition of Turin, presenting the wine at the tasting held by “Circolo Enofilo Subalpino”, on the occasion of the 50th Anniversary of the Unity of Italy.
After 150 years of activity, the historical winery is run today by sisters Mariacristina and Mariavittoria, who are passionate about wine. They took over from their father Giacomo and are assisted by their children, whose youth gives freshness and innovation to the wisdom of tradition.
Together with them work experts and staff who have become part of the family.