The history of DEVAUX dates back to the mid 19th century, when the house was founded by two brothers Jules and Auguste DEVAUX.
Madame Claude-Joseph Devaux, born Josephte Ducray, widowed at 39 years old in 1843, managed the House named Veuve A. Devaux from 1846 with her son François-Auguste, with talent and energy.
François-Auguste married Augusta-Maria Herbin who became the second Devaux widow at the death of her husband in 1879, and managed the House until 1895. The brand quickly became famous and very active in the worldwide awareness of the Champagne region. By the end of the 19th century, DEVAUX was exporting 75% of its production.
Francois-Auguste’s son – Charles-Auguste Devaux – became a victim of a heart attack in 1907 and his wife, born Hussenot, became the third Devaux widow. She managed the House at 31 years old until her death at 80 years old, in 1951. Her two sons succeeded her until 1985. For more than one century, the house, located in Epernay, remained under the ownership of the founding family.
In 1987, Jean-Pol Auguste DEVAUX, the last member of the family, having no son, decided to hand over the future of his brand to Laurent Gillet, the president of Union Auboise (known today as the Groupe Vinicole Champagne Devaux).
Since it was founded, the image of DEVAUX, classy and dynamic, is a perfect reflection of the genuine and original character of its champagnes. The signature on each bottle symbolizes this unique spirit.
Devaux Champagne pictures